34 members have voted

1. 1. Would you recommend a UGF?

• Yes, they are brilliant!
    • No, they are dreadful!
    • Only a reverse-flow UGF
    • Only on certain types of tanks
    • Only when used with another filter
    • Other

I voted "only on certain types of tanks". I used to keep large SA cichlids. Need I say more? :lol: I think that for non-breeding betta tanks, for example, as long as the bubble rate is reasonable, they are fantastic.

Love them! I have been using one in a particular tank for the past 14 years and it still works! Just run a really strong airfilter on it. Yeh you can't clean them properly, but with a good gravel vac you can keep nitrates under control :lol:

I've gone with only certain types of tanks mainly because there are tanks I would never use one in - a large tank for example. I've been using UGF's as long as I've been keeping fish, and although I know they are old school now I still use them in some of the smaller tanks & I've never had any problems.

My 2nd (bigger)growout tank, the 3ft girl's community tank and my 5ft 'barracks' tank (filled with bottles) all have one but never alone, usually with an internal filter, the 5ft has a Cannister filter. I do like them along with another filter especially when I am not after a heap of water movement. I do make sure they are smaller than the tank so I can plant heavily behind them as plants don't always do well on top of one. cheers Deb