Hi From Port Douglas

miha1967

Hi everybody,

My name is Mihaela, I'm a marine biologist (used to work in research in aquaculture field) and live in Port Douglas, Qld (Cairns area). I have my first two spawns of siamese fighting fish and waiting for the third to happen as we speak. The oldest ones are 6 weeks old and start jarring the biggest ones and the second spawn is 4 weeks old. I don't know yet what I'm going to do with fry, chose some for breeding, give them away to friends, give some to the aquarium shop for some shop credit or so. Anyway they are gorgeus, from an opaque white x opaque white female and yellow male x opaque white female, all half moons. I will take pictures when they get older. I also own a 300 l community fish tank with discus and other species. Intend to try breeding discus, I will set up a 100 l breeding tank in the next few days. I also have brine shrimp hatchery and brine shrimp culture spirulina fed. I need to learn as much as possible and I hope to find some resources here. I hope to find some other starter cultures of live feeds, especially microworm. Thanks!

Mihaela

Edited by mihaela

Hi Mihaela, welcome to AusAqua! :)

Can't wait to see pics of your fry!

someone (someone) has cultures of microworms and vinegar eels for sale - she is in Queensland also, so might be worth having a look in Classifieds, there's a thread there for members who are selling live foods.

Welcome Mihaela :)

I love Opaques! I think we were wondering if anyone was breeding opaque HM's not long ago and here you are!! I bet a few people would be interested in your fish as they mature. I want to see some photos!!! (when you have time, of course :) :))