Too much finnage

jusdeb

:thumbs: Probably a silly question but can a fighter have to much fin???? My male halfmoon had a chew on his fin in transit and now that it has grown back he looks as if he has too much fin.

When I uncard him and he is staring down my other boy he actually looks like the weight of his fins is pulling him down (ie. instead of staying horizontal he slowly noses up)...he is fine when he is swimming , flaring etc its just when he stops that I notice it. :(

well i am not an expert on bettas but i sus pect that your fish may have a problem with his swim bladder? i have heard of neon tetras that swam up-right and have personally experionsed this (with my gold fish, coral, :rant: RIP) if there is not enough space for the fish to swim, if that is not the problem and he seems to be healthy all over with no other syptoms of a swim blader problem then, just as a precaution i would give him a small dose of stress coat or the australian subsitute( sorry im scottish, not sure if you get it over there) or he may just be getting old, im not sure, i personally would wait for another hobbyist, that is more knowlegable than me with bettas to reply, while dosing with half the recimented amount of stress coat.

hoped i helped a bit,

:P Gaza :P

I've had fish recover from SBD before but not very often... Just make sure there are some plants or soemthing close to the surface for him to rest on, try fasting him for a day or 2 and feeding small pieces of cooked pea, that's what worked for me ^_^ either way it's still a good thing to do :)

SBD is a symptom rather than an actual disease. It depends on whats causing the SBD and wheather it has caused damage to the swim bladder as to wheather it is peminant. It may be a simple matter of pressure from overfeeding or constipation.

In regards to heavy fins I have observed in older fish 2-3 yo + that it is quite possible for the fins to become heavy due to progressive weakness paticularly in DT, HM and delta.