What will they think of next?

brettc777

Umm.... how does he breathe? Or is it not filled all the way to the top?

Yeah exactly!!! :(

I'm no expert (or physicist for that matter) but I would say that the globe part of the tank would have to be full in order for the whole trickle thingthing to work...so totally not suitable for betta IMO :(

I don't know why but for some reason the bettas' strengths seem to be challenged by weird set ups like these all the time... I can remember when I first went to buy one at the lfs and I was being sold a tiny 10cm cube and I looked at the size of the fish and the size of the cube and thought...he couldn't be happy in there!

Or the one with the plant growing out the top and the roots in the bettas tiny little water chamber and very little if no surface air.

And IMO if you are giving these things to kids it teaches them to disregard the proper care and nurturing positive aspects that pet ownership should bring ... kind of de-humanises or in this case de-fishalises them.

OOooops I think I'll just hop off my soap box now....must be waay past my bed time :(

My first thought with seeing the globe one was the same as Bettarazzi...How do they breathe?

I have seen the trucks before & wouldn't keep fish in there myself as I like my tanks to be bigger. I had never thought about whether the wheels were movable or not lol

I thought I read somewhere that betta are facultative air breathers and they can still get oxygen from the water through their gills like regular fish do. But it's not their preference...

***EDIT - sorry I originally said obligate, I meant facultative (I think)

yup they require breathing from the surface. Scientists have done tests on bettas where they removed the breathing ability of the betta. They found that the betta drowned in a matter of hours. Without access to air our babies would all die =[