Garaging Bettas

jumper

hi there i am just wondering how many have a set up in their garage? Main reason for that is i just refused a good deal on 6 x 2 foot tanks + stand because i think the overall weight might damage the base structure in the house. I am not an engineer but i was thinking 8 x 2 foot tanks + steel frame = > 500Kgs ! on a small area like 1500cm X 400 cm. thats sure did sound like a lot fo weight to me... that set upwas gonna be put in my dining area :) ideas? i have thought about building something on my own, but then there is the cost effect as always cheaper the better! Joe

I know how it feels to refuse a good deal like that... I could've got 2 6x2x2 on one stand for $1000... ^_^ My house would probably collapse under that weight, which is over one tonne (1000kgs) minus gravel and stuff, just considering water, tanks, and stand. I think a garage would fluctuate too much in temperature, as has been suggested. However, it'd depend on the insulation of the garage, and what kind of heating/cooling you have in place in the tanks and in the garage. :lol: