beginner 3ft tank

louu

Ill give you some background info

I have successfully kept goldfish in a pond for a few years and successfully kept a fighting fish in a 5 ltr tank for a year (he is still going!)

For the past year I have been on and off researching various fish (though Im by no means an expert) but mostly bettas. 6 months ago I got my 3ft (roughly 150L)tank but have not been able to fill it due to chronic illness. I am making a solid recovery and am very excited to be moving out of home in a months time and will have a room dedicated to fish and sewing (shaping up to be my two hobbies) so basically I want to stock though first I have to cycle it and how my 21L tank is going that might prove difficult!

Ever since I have seen black widow/skirt tetras I have been drawn to them but I dont really know if they are a good beginner fish I figured some tetras would be a good place to start but my true love (though so far short lived) are tiger barbs some people say some terrible things about them but it would be a single species tank is this a reasonable goal? how hard are they to mantain I think they might be brackish water fish so that would be an extra challenge

I want something that I will be interested in for a long while to come which worries me about the tetras but I doubt I could handle Tiger Barbs

Im open to anything you believe Im capable of!

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Good to hear you're on the mend Louu....

The widow tetras are ok for beginners for sure... there's the black and the gold varieties.... but tend to be (in my opinion) a quiet and boring fish in terms of activity, antics, personality, etc....