Betta Setup Help?

mat92

Hi all.

I a betta a few days ago, and currently keep him in a fishbowl with about 3.5L of water in it (not including gravel and plant). I have a plant and a decent amount of gravel, with a few inches gap at the top of the tank so he wont jump (hopefully!!).

Although his tank is on the small side, I was wondering if it's big enough?

I also have an 11L tank but its packed away in storage at the moment. If i moved my fish into the larger tank would i need to buy a heater or something? At the moment I just use a regular lamp on him for a couple of hours each day (about 1hr in the morning, 4 in the afternoon i guess.) and his tank seems to be pretty warm. He seems pretty happy, and i came home yesterday to find he had built a bubble nest!!!

I have also been feeding him (occasional) live food that I have been growing in my backyard (mosquito larvae and these little red wormy things). Any suggestions welcome, as I'm new to keeping bettas!!

Cheers,

Mathew

By the way...

The petstore didnt seem to know very much about keeping fish... according to them I should keep him in "the smallest tank possible" and "never feed him live food, as he will make a mess and not eat it"..... so the only *real* information i've been using at this stage is off the internet.

ugh I HATE ignorant petshops! Bettas LOVE live food and you should put them in a DECENT size tank! The bigger the better!

Now I'd be guessing that living on the goldcoast you'd be fine through summer months but I'd guess he will need to be heated throughout the winter time (as overnight the temps can drop a bit too much for the bettas), in that sense it would be more appropriate to put him in the bigger tank as depending on the dimension of the 3.5 it might not be able to hold a heater in there if it turns out you need one.