Taking The Plunge-a Bit Quicker Than I Thought

fulltilt

OK, most of you don't know me because I'm a newbie, I've only been to one MASS meeting but I need a HEAP of advice now.

I've been able to get a tank that's already setup, I don't really want this thread to concentrate on the purchase (but that is sure to creep in) but I really need some moving advice.

Pics to help (click for larger image) NB Blue Tang not included

Posted Image

What is the silver fish in this pic ?

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Now here's the kickers :

- this is my first marine tank

- it's in Newcastle, and I'm in Sydney

Here's my plan, please critique as needed (because I need it !!!) :

- before the move, get an external water tank for storing NSW

- before the move, get the tank filled with NSW

- get a lot of foam boxes

On the day ....

- box the fish, with water and tape them up

- box the LR, with water and tape them up

- drain the tank (should I try to bring ALL the water home ?)

- take TONS of photos, disconnect all plumbing

- load onto ute/trailer

- drive home

- position cabinet ( I already know where it's going, and it will fit there)

- position tank & sump

- connect plumbing

- test for leaks (god, I hope there isn't any )

- place LR

- fill with SW (original if I have it, otherwise NSW)

- place fish

- start to stress, if I haven't already :)

OK, so what have I missed doing ?

Do I need to run a water test before I start and after I've finished ?

Anyone want to help ? :) Move is planned for Feb 11, but subject to change.

Now my concerns .....

- I've bought this largely sight unseen, but I think I got it for a good price

- I've read somewhere that "bioballs are only for fish", can I have corals with this setup ?

- I still love the idea of a refugium, can I replace the current sump/mini-reef with a new sump that contains refugium, skimmer, etc.. later on ? (I think that's an easy yes)

ANY advice would be useful !