Should have known better. :-(

Fletch

I can't believe I did this. I am so disappointed in myself.

As most of you know, I am concentrating on my plants in my community tank. This is a steep learning curve for me as I have zero experience with planted tanks. Anyway, I got my stuff of Aquagreen (seems to be working great) and had a faulty co2 diffuser. I bought another one last Sunday and hooked it up. While I was at it, I cleaned my canister filter out. I only do this once a year and always carefully watch water conditions for next six weeks. I also turned off internal filter as i wanted to get rid of the current in my tank as it was a bit strong. I was running my co2 into the internal filter so the bubbles would go through the impeller. It worked a treat.

Anyway, yesterday I thought the fish looked "strange". Couldn't put my finger on it. Also noticed I was missing one angel. This morning I had fish gasping on the surface. I immediately tested water and ammonia was HIGH. I was confused as I did water change on Sunday as well. I have lost a few fish and found no bodies but that shouldn't effect it like this. As I did a 50% wc, I though I might as well remove the internal filter. Christ, I almost spewed when I pulled it out. Bloody thing was going septic as no water was flowing through it. :-(.

As I said at the start, I can't believe I did this. Too busy thinking about plants and new "problems" that i forgot the absolute basics of fish care. Guess I am just lucky I reacted quickly and at least recognized issues. Hopefully no fish has suffered any gill damage. Will have a better idea in the morning.

Hope I can save someone else doing such a stupid thing.

:-)

Not good news. More fish doing the same.

Any chance I have overdosed co2? Just at a loss. I have bristlenose now sitting very close to the top. I have disconnected co2.

Any ideas?

Edited by Busman