A NEW SPAWN!

Sarah

Now that I've got your attention let me begin.

Becki kindly gave me two Apple Snails on Saturday, and last night, I think I saw them mating.

newtoday010.jpg

Mr. Cory. ;)

newtoday009.jpg

newtoday008.jpg

No eggs as yet, I believe they lay above the water line, and the eggs look like a raspberry.

This may not be exciting for you, but it is my first time even owning a snail, and is quite interesting. :)

They were kinda 'rotating', and afterwards, what I assumed was the female was doing this sort of weird.. um.. thing where she looked as if to lay an egg, but nothing came. :blush:

Later on, the male & female came to go together again, and then one of them fell off the glass. It was funny in a mean sort of way. Poor snail, they often fall silly things.

While I'm on the topic, do Apple Snails eat plants?

newtoday003.jpg

newtoday002.jpg

@ Shadoh and Busman - don't know what you two are laughing about....at my age things like this can induce heart failure :blush: I shall henceforth be known as Nanna (I can almost guarantee i'm older than you lot!!) :lol:

@ Sarah - that was mean young lady, I got all excited (did think Bloody Hell...that was quick! :lol: ) now I find out you're on about snails!! I can understand though, baby anythings tend to cheer us up no end. As for plants...my guess would be they will try anything and if it tastes ok (???) they'll go back for more. Best of luck with 'em, Nanna B) Just by the way I had 17 babies yesterday... am absolutely knackered now and when I remember where I put my glasses I might even have another look at them :blink: <_<

Edited by FlameDragon

Yeah, baby anythings are great. :)

I caught one of them attacking a small plant, so I popped in an algae pellet for it. I'm thinking about starting them out in a tub, as I don't think the female has enough room to lay her eggs for her liking. Plus it will keep them away from my plants. :)

Oohhh.. what sort of babies? Guppies?