Glolight Tetra

KillieOrCory

The eggs will need an egg bouncer or some form of curent flowing over them and raise the fry as for all small fish fry, e.g inforusia, MW's and BBS. Try a google search on spawning danios and the method will be the same at the fry raising stage.

In the past when i have ACCIDENTLY bred tetras they spawned on some java moss or on the substrate and the filter was enough of a curet to keep them good. I usually just removed the parents. and in a couple of days had a nice hatch of the little buggers

since you have handled them i would also use a funguside to treat the water incase you have introduced bacteria

Also if you dont have a worm culture i could post you a starter.

have fun and let me know how you go with them.

Cheers

Deano

Thanks guys!

I've never tried to breed tetras before, so this is a bit exciting for me.

I've listened to a aquarium radio show and the guest on the show was commenting on the number of people regularly attending aquarium society meetings and his opinions on why there has been a decline. Apart from some other factors he higlighted the fact that there are fewer people interested in; or actively, breeding fish then a decade or two ago. His solution to having more people attend the regular meetings is to have more fish available to auction at these meetings.

I tend to agree in that these days there are fewer bags of fish offered for sale in the meetings than before. The reason why I became particularly interested in certain fish was purely because they were available at the local aquarium society auction and I just though I'll try them.

Anyway to cut a long story short I decide in the next 12 months I am actively going to participate in the Breeders Award program of my local aquarium society (CDAS) and as a result hope to have surplus fish in the auctions. With this in mind I got the Glolight Tetra's.