Work tank, planted up...

Stuart Elflett

I work in the printing industry - I do have a nice large office - nearly put the tank on the stand that came with it, but decided I still want it in front of me... I still have plenty of desk space though...

The clip is holding a couple of blanched lettuce leaves for the Albino BN... there's not much algae yet, so I'm offering other things it might like, too...

lettuce lol. interesting! hmm i might look into a tank for my work. would be a good idea. make a nice display in a florist wont you think? hang on... thats where i can keep the oscars i want to get.

GREAT IDEA GUYS !!!

Looks great Stuart, How do you keep your plants looking so healthy? Amazon swords and valleria are the only plants that survive in my tanks - they either get picked at or they just rot!!

The flashy T5 lighting would help a lot! Do you use special substrate or fertiliser or anything Stuart?

Lights ARE a big start - I have another planted tank which is all low light plants - and it's only been flourishing since I got rid of the fantails that were devouring anything remotely edible - including Java Fern... having fish that are plant friendly is a good start... I believe Betta's are more interested in using bits of plants for bubble nests than for eating though, aren't they??

The substrate is just gravel - fine gravel at the bottom, coming up to river pebbles on top... I'm yet to go high tech, but when and if I do then I'll do fancy substrate... C02, the works... as long as I have 'attractive' tanks atm, I'm happy - and I have three tanks with enough plants to be happy with them now...

I've got root tabs in the gravel, and dose Excel and Tetra Flora Pride, with the odd drops of Wardley fertiliser, too, once in a while...

Actually, I wrote the setup up for another site - here it is, for anyone interested: