Choosing next pair to continue line.....

Fletch

I like her. Nice smooth topline, nice even finnage. I like the rays in the dorsal are pretty much the same length. A couple of wonky looking rays in the anal fin, but I am guessing it is growout tank damage and nothing to worry about.

They both look great, Busman. I'm still an amateur at judging fish and I'm not really into crown tail, so I don't know very much about what to look for forms (webbing and stuffs).

Then again, when choosing which one to breed to continue the line, I think you'd need to consider on what you are trying to achieve. Colour wise and form wise. :)

Lol. I am no expert either. One thing I have learnt is when Shadoh and I stand in front of a tank/barracks, looking at fish (either at Fishchicks or either of our houses), we ALWAYS choose different fish as favorites......

My goals are to produce fish that I like, in the hope I can sell enough to pay for the next pair to breed. As long as the fish I produce are better quality than LFS fish, I have no problems. This is a great hobby that I love. I am blown away with the challenge and the actual breeding and raising the fry. Not so interested in"perfection" as beauty is different for everyone.

(:

I really like the female, she's got a tidy body shape - overal balance is a tiny bit off, her anal is a spot long, but wonder if that's as much a concern with the CT form?

(I assume it's the same as the HM overall form)

So if you were aiming for a balanced oval, I'd be looking for a male with a balanced anal fin and strong D shaped caudal.

Might be worth identifying what your goals are with the next spawn - what you want to build on - improve etc.

Only some minor faults on her, slightly wonky rays in the anal, and slight rounded caudal edges....

These are totally nit-picking points, she's nice in my opinion.