breeding bristlenose

zhong89

I have decided to try and breed my beautiful pair of albino bristlenoses from Jo. They're in a two feet tank with a breeding colony of endlers, 6 baby peppermint bristlenoses and another pair of albino bristlenoses. Today, I bought a large specially made cave for them and the male went to investigate the cave at once. But as soon as I turned on the light, he's went back into hiding under the large sponge filter again. Well, the thing is this is my first time trying to breed them and any advice and tips will be welcomed and cherished.

Cheers

In such a small tank... make sure you have great filtration and cleaning as BN's are big producers of 'crap' :)

BN's are best if you have a trio with 1M and 2F - another male in the tank can cause fighting to occur which will put an end to breeding.... generally, I would put only one pair or trio in such a tank... leave the endlers as they won't annoy the BN's at all.... BN's don't like bright lights so just room lights are fine for them most of the time.... feed them up on blood worms, fresh zuchinni or good quality spirulina disks to get them in the mood for breeding....

Ok, will be moving the fishes around soon... and thinking about getting another tank.