My 'bargain', not such a bargain afterall

fishfin

I was in the market for an Aqua One 980. It's a 215 litre, bow front. It was going to cost almost $1000 for the tank and stand, brand new. I really had trouble spending that kind of money, especially as I am just starting out and I still have so much to learn.

Then I headed to Ebay and picked up the same tank, 2nd hand. It came with a heap of extras and was $300. I was just going to get my husband to build a cabinet but he is away overseas for a while. I got impatient and bought the proper stand for the tank as they are sold separately. I go the stand for $260. So, for both the 2nd hand tank, brand new stand cost me $560, instead of $1000.

I was pretty excited and bought the tank home last night.

1st thing I notice is that the tank is 'well used'. The hood is full of scratches. :((

The heater is broken, smashed inside the heater cover.

The 'extras' that were included are now in the rubbish bin.

The testing kits that came with the tank are expired/out of date.

One of the lights (there are 3 with this tank) does not work at all. Even after buying 3 new globes.

The filter that was part of the original set up has been replaced by another type. The parts don't see to want to fit with the existing system.

The tank has been resealed.....BADLY though. It is such a shocking job. There is sealant everywhere. :(

The tank has scratches on the inside of the glass.

To tell you the truth, the tank is still sitting in my car as I can't lift it out on my own. I have to wait for my son to help me lift it. Therefore, i don't even know if it will leak.

I am so upset. I am the type of person who really looks after her belongings. Now I have this lovely new cabinet with this well used tank to go on top of it.

Today I bought a new heater, filter pads, 3 x lights and there is still other stuff to buy once I figure the pump.