Cichlids And Community Tank Help?

kandeecane

Labeotropheus Trewavasae...

I'm new to cichlids and I'm not entirely sure what other species you can keep with this one and how many of this fish you should have in a tank? My friend owns one of these that is in a tank with two angel fish, one red tail shark and a rainbow shark, one large-ish common pleco and a smaller one, another type of catfish I'm not entirely sure about, a glass catfish, a clown loach, a sucker fish that I think might be a whiptail, there is also one red eye tetra and a bumblebee catfish. Anything he should stock up more on or remove? You would probably be more help than I am.

Labeotropheus Trewavasae are mbuna - Lake Malawi cichlids. Think 'freshwater reef fish'. They are from very hard alkaline rift lake environments in Africa. A quick google search reveals that they are universally regarded as "aggressive." Most hobbyists heavily stock (and heavily filter) African cichlid tanks (with African cichlids, not community fish) to spread aggressive behaviour.

I would have thought they were totally incompatible with Angelfish (being South American cichlids, with totally different behaviour/dominance patterns and water requirements). Most of the other fish sound incompatible with mbuna to me as well. While several can be aggressive, (eg angels, red tails), again, they have different behaviour patterns.

To be honest, this sounds like it is going to end up being a really unrelaxing tank with lots of fish that chase and try to bully each other. I don't like the glass catfish's or bumblebee's chances.

Having said all that, I prefer Lake Tanganyika cichlids and so don't profess to be an expert on Malawis.

It's a 3 ft tank and it's looking a little bare... I was thinking of convincing him to lose the Malawi cichlid and put other things in there to make it interesting as a 3 ft tank isn't really a big enough size for cichlids... I might even try get him addicted to betta while I'm at it.