Hello hello

Meghan

Hi everyone,

I'm Meghan aand while I suppose I'm not new to bettas/Siamese Fighting Fish, technically, I am new to wanting to know about the various tail formations/strains (whatever you call them?) and breeding these little beauties.

Just today I've brought what I think is a Half Moon male (at least, the shop told me that he is a half moon, and it is a pretty reputable shop, at least with cichlids anyway). He's in a 2ft planted tank by himself at the moment, I'm planning to add my Harlequin Rasboras (sources have indicated that they're compatible - please tell me if I'm wrong!) in a few days and my Yoyo Loaches once the plants have dug their toes in a little more. I really love this guy's colouration and finnage and I'd loove to breed him after finding out a little more about bettas. The idea of hobby line breeding some colour morphs is immensely appealing to me! But it seems that female fighters are hard to come by in Perth, and I'd want to get half-moon or crowntail females to breed with this guy.

As for my other fish habits...

I've been keeping tropical fish since the very end of 2007, and I've had a respectable setup since January 2008. (One of my friends brought me a nice little red veiltail betta as a late birthday present. Though she meant well he came in a tiny little tank, which after some research and some more research I upgraded to my old goldfish 1ft tank. Then I brought a standard 2x1x1 tank and it's kind of exploded from there.)

Here are some of the fish I've kept:

Veiltail Betta

Yoyo Loaches (Botia almorhae)

Dwarf Gourami (Colisa lalia)

Innumerable Common Bristlenose (Ancistrus sp.(3))

Albino Bristlenose

Kribensis (Pelvicachromis Pulcher)

Apistogramma Borellii

Crowntail Betta

Peppermint Bristlenose (L071 are they?)

Synodontis Polli

Black Pearl Calvus (Altolamprologus calvus)

Lace Gourami

Neon Tetras

Harlequin Rasboras

Pictus Catfish

Convict Cichlids

Half Moon Betta (I think?)