Veggies

7buddies

Well I want my bettas to be as healthy as possible and I was wondering if I could feed them tiny, cut up veggies. For example, broccoli tops. I feed my budgies broccoli tops and broccoli tops are the same size as betta pellets. My four bettas also eat freeze dried blood worms but I was wondering about veggies. Would they be okay?

Thanks for any responses. :)

bettas aren't naturally veggie-eaters, i think, but i confess to having fed my bettas a variety of veggies in past along with their regular food. i gave them bits of carrot, lettuce, broccoli, and peas, all cooked... i've often wondered if feeding them such a varied diet was what made them so spiffy up to the day they died... the last remaining male of that particular veggie-fed generation of bettas is 4-5 years old and still builds bubblenests! :)

i would cook the broccoli first (boiling it in water until the green stem becomes soft)... but just to warn you, i’m not an expert on these things, although personally i’ve never seen any of my bettas suffer from ill effects after eating veggies (quite the opposite in fact). if you don’t want to take a risk, i would recommend that you look up on this subject more and listen to the opinions of more seasoned betta keepers before you decide what’s best for your fishies. :D

one more thing i think i should mention: bettas are carnivorous, which means they probably wouldn’t do so well on a complete veggie-based diet. my own bettas got fed veggies 3 times a week at the most. the rest of the time i fed them their usual food (bloodworms and ect., stuff that has lots of protein).