Barracks Help

brettc777

I have a 3ft tank that i am going to turn into a barracks. i want to use one filter and heater for it all. if i make glass dividers and have them rasie about 0.5cm will this allow the water to be heated and filtered. obviously im not going to have any gravel or anything like that on the bottom of the thank. also is it possible to keep plants alive without them being set in gravel?

Do you want the dividers to be removable?

What type of filtration are you going to use?

I wouldn't discount gravel just yet, for that size tank, you may find that a UGF setup would give you good biofiltration and good water flow (using reversable powerheads, not airstones).

Plants like java fern and anubias can be grown over rocks and wood, and plants like hornwort can just float around. Most others can be grown in pots if you want to :)

Thanks guys,

Bettarazzi, that link is good. thats exactly what i want to do. As im new to this again i need to get my knowledge back up. ATM i just have a 3ft tank no dividers, no heater and no filter. Im trying to stay within a low budget, However in saying that i would rather pay abit more for a good setup which will help reduce time in cleaning etc.

So any info on what material should i use for dividers? i was think about making about 7 spaces for bettas and one for the heater and filter. i asked my father about perspex and said 'i dont know i think thats more expensive then glass' not that my father knows it all he likes to think he does lol.

so yeah any suggestions would be good.

Thanks for help so far!