Newbie needs help

Gaby

Hi all, :confused:

I am brand new to betta breeding and I reckon you have many times helped 'greenies' with the same questions.

What is the minimum/required size of cubes to house HAPPY male bettas. Has anyone got sort of a drawing to explain in detail how to go about the "retic" for the tanks as I can't get my head around the sump and how to make the flow in/flow out of the whole thing. Next question: where can I get these Indian Almond leaves? How many females would I be able to house in a 3ft tank? Last but not least: where can I get live food for fry in WA. Maybe someone in WA which is so far from all the things you can get in the Eastern States so easily can help along the way and be my mentor? :blush:

Can anyone help, please. Thank you. B-)

Hi I can help with a few of these questions, I think that 10L is a good size to keep male betta's happy. 8L min. I got my Indian Almond leaves from Aquotix in canning vale off bannister road, this is a great shop if you haven't been there already. If you go in there and ask questions about the retic and sump you mentioned they will be able to show you they are very helpful also Les on here feeds all his fish live food so maybe he can help you out there :-) What are you planning on breeding?

Hey Paws,

Firstly, start at the beginning.

Research is your best friend - have a peek here at the care sheet Victoria Betta have put together... we recommend a minimum of 3 litres per male.

In a 3 foot tank you'd be best off with 6 or more females - with LOTS of plant coverage (fake or real - it's about hiding spots and breaking up the line of sight for agro girls), oh - and sharp eyes - the girls will hammer out a pecking order in the first few days but anyone that persists in aggressing might want to be isolated in their own tank or re-homed.... you'll need to be on top of it so nobody gets hurt.

The more fish in a sorority the better (filtration and water changes to suit)

Filtration is confusing.