Water hardness

sunrose217

Good morning

I don't know if this is the right place to post a topic after having a look around the rules suggested in the forum there is a button for new topic,..this is mine:

At the beginning I thought there was only the ph but it seems there are others-like dgh and kh and maybe others that exist? This being my first question. I am only new at this,..so am learning slowly,..

I have a basic ph kit to let me know what ph my water is but recently have been reading up on the different water hardnesses-like 15-25dgh for some type of cichlids -which brings me to my second question-What dgh and other "h's" do the bettas like? The third question: If anyone has found a good kit/gadget for the other hardness purpose(not/just ph);-

Apparently water hardness (not talking about ph but that can too,..)can affect egg fertility,..? That is all Anne

This section is for people wanting an IBC style critique of their betta.... but...

In answer to your questions.... don't get over complicated.... as long as you have a reasonable ph don't get too caught up being a chemist and forget to be a fish keeper.... betta will survive and flourish in most fresh (de-chlorinated) water of around a neutral pH....your fish will adapt to it as long as you don't go changing the parameters of the water all the time.... my fish are fine in water straight out of the tap (run through a carbon filter to remove chlorine)..... add a piece of indian almond leaf and it will give you a slightly lower pH and all the other healthy benefits it offers.... :)

Hi Wayne,

Thanks for the reply it was very nice of you. I realised only afterwards I was in the wrong area- but it got a good answer.