fishless cycling a 658 litre tank

6ftaquaman

Hi guys,

I am on day 6 of a fishless cycle and would like some advice from anyone who has done a fishless cycle before. Im not the most patient person in the world and I know you need to be with this sort of thing but I thought I would post the cycle diary here as I have never done a fishless cycle before and Im sure I will have questions to ask during the whole process.

To start with I am using cloudy ammonia as the ammonia source. (the bottle does not foam up when you shake it so I assume it is ok to use) I have 6 prawn tails sitting in a bag at the bottom of the tank, not sure if they are producing ammonia as well but after 6 days I would assume so. The tank seems to be getting cloudier each day which I hope is the good bacteria working and not just from the "cloudy" ammonia. I did not start using the ammonia until day 3.

Anyways here is the diary so far...

Day 1

Ammonia-0.50ppm

PH-7.8

(This is all I tested on the first day)

Day 2

Ammonia-0.50ppm

Nitrite-0.25ppm

Nitrate-5ppm

Day 3

Ammonia-0.50ppm

Nitrite-0.25ppm

Nitrate-5ppm

Day 4

Ammonia-4.0ppm

Nitrite-0.50ppm

Nitrate-5ppm

Day 5

Ammonia-4.0ppm

Nitrite-0.25ppm

Nitrate-5ppm

Day 6

Ammonia-8ppm

Nitrite-0.25ppm

Nitrate-5ppm

Now my understanding of this is that I am starting to see the ammonia spike now on day 6 that should then start to drop away to 0 and then the nitrite spike which in turn will drop away to 0 and then a nitrate spike, is this correct?. The other question I have is should I keep adding the same amount of ammonia to the tank or should I start to reduce the amount now?

Edited by 6ftaquaman

Just thinking about this - I think you should keep adding the same amount of ammonia to keep that value at a constant. So that if your ammonia starts going dowm, you'll know it's because of the cycle, and not simply because you've stopped adding ammonia.

If your cycle is working, then your ammonia results should keep going down.