New to Bettas - Sydney

Malloy

Hi everyone!

I so excited about finding a site that seems to have so many people in Oz breeding Bettas! I am very new to all of this, most of the info I find on the 'net is from people based in the US etc. I'm sick of converting gallons and degrees F! :lol: I'd like to think I've garnerd a fair bit of info already, but I'm well aware that I still have much to learn! This all started for me when I suggested to my soon to be wife that we put 1 or 2 Bettas on every table at our wedding reception. She thought it would save money to breed them ourselves...I doubt it! However, I was happy to try it anyway, the wedding is in April 08 and I'm getting tight on time! There's no problem if I can't do it, my LFS has me covered.

So, I have a heavily planted 34L tank with shrimp etc in it. Next to that I have the betta breeding tank. They are on the same level, water is pumped from the planted tank into the betta tank, and a syphon takes the water back through a sponge filter to the planted tank. Both tanks are heated individually at 27 deg C. As for the fish, I have 3 veil tail cambodians, 1M and 2F. The breeding tank has a half cup for the nest, some driftwood and java moss, and a small pot to hide in.

When I first put the first female in her protective jar in the breeding tank, all the signs were good...male was flaring up, had a good size nest going, she was vertical barring. I let her into the tank and he basically chased and nipped her for 2 days without any results! So I'm trying the other female soon, but very new to this so I'm sure it will come to me in time.

A few pics:

betta%20tank%20setup01.JPGmeeting-30oct07-03.JPGmeeting-30oct07-02.JPG