HELP ALGIE PROBLEMS

Guest Hughie

HiHi

Im very new to the planted tanks, this being my first serious go at it. Anyhow I planted a 4'18' standard tank about 4 weeks back, the plants that survived the still look green but not as lush as when I first got them. about a week back I only just started to notice regrowth in the form of tiny leaves.

Anyhow now im noticing large amounts of brown hair algie. super thing and many strands. Its even in my java moss!

So in short how can I eliminate and keep it away?

If I use some of the products that kill algie, will my plants stuffer as well. What are the recommended products?

If I use UV will it remove hair algie as well?

I also hear that Siamese Flying Fox will eat it? will 2*small ones take care of a 4foot tank?

thanks peoples.

Hey Hughie, welcome aboard :cheer:

UV can only kill what it touches, so it will help eliminate free-floating things, not what it already established. A friend of mine is having great success with flying foxes. You can still see the algae on some rocks, but the plants are mainly clean (anubias etc)

Is it growing in tufts or as a sort of fluffy carpet? Does it come off easily with your fingers? does it look like fungus or hair?

What area are you in? Are you using tank or town water? Any additions or treatments?

What lighting do you have?

What fish are in the tank? What plants?

I think I have to go looking for flying foxes this weekend.

Im using a dual T5 54W probably on for about 5-6hours a day from the time I get home from work till the time I go to sleep. Oh one tube is blue the other is white if that matters.

The algie is growing in really fine fluffy carpets hanging from the leaves mainly, it comes off easily when using your fingers but it seems firmly attached. Not at all like a fungus more like hair. u can see the single fine strands.

the tank is stocked with 5 tetra, 6 betta pk's youngens and 2 pakastani loaches