Feature fish ideas

Pappy

Hi all

Re posting

I posted this in the wrong section

put it in the Introductions

After ideas on a fish to stand out as a feature, a solid bright red or gold

most of my fish so far are blue or silver and I feel I need something with a bit of contrast to stand out

I'm a bit of a novice, havn't kept fish for 20 or 30 years but I remember the basics

I have a 6x2x2 with a large external canister, not sure of the make/model but it is moving a lot of water

Keeping the water on the soft side, PH 6 and 25deg

So far I have stocked with

4 x Cory

4 x Bristle nose

15 x Cardinals

1 x Ram

1 X Blue gourami

I wanted 3 or 4 Angels with mixed colours, and a friend gave me 10 x 2" silver with black stripes

I didn't have the heart to say no. I may have to off load some as they are all from the same batch

all the fish are Juvies except the gourami and ram

Amazon swords, small Anubias, a bit of Jave fern

Plan to put 2 or 3 more Anubias on the centerpiece log when I find some nice plants

Looking for a nice feature fish (I'm open for suggestion)something that will stand out like a gold sevrum (Not sure what a Sevrum will do to my plants)

Almost bought a gold Discus but was told they need to be on there own

Pete

MacCulloch's Rainbowfish do well in softer water, and are quite an attractive fish when coloured up. I kept some for a while in a 2ft tank and they were always fun to watch. Particularly when the males would spar or show off to the females.

They are not a very big fish, but a large enough school of them would provide plenty of activity and colour to your tank.

If you do choose rainbows you have to find species that would be comfortable in a pH under 7. Many prefer hard, alkaline water to really thrive. However, there are a couple that are a lot more adaptable.