Not sure what I'm doing, but...

johnskillcorn

I hope you'll accept this as an appropriate introduction from a new member from the UK. I live in Washington, with history going back to George of USA fame.

I keep killifish (South American annuals) and several wild Betta species, both groups of which I am currently breeding. SA killies go back years, but the Bettas are reasonably new to me and I'm in my second year with them. All things considered, I reckon I've been very successful with them and I'm currently breeding BB. 'antuta', 'palangkarensis', rubra, krataios, stigmosa, channoides and albimarginata. I'm lucky in that I've got an excellent contact/importer/mentor within travelling distance up in Glasgow - Colin Dunlop - who's a well-established Betta breeder, writer and importer.

I'm also breeding the dwarf cichlid Taeniacara candidi, as well as the newts Neurergus kaiseri.

Contact me if you feel you'd like to.

John Skillcorn

Welcome to the forum! Almost (if not everyone) is from Australia, but I'm looking forward to learning from you. After seeing your recent posts, I am absolutely stocked to have you here so you can share a bit of your knowledge :D

I am a relatively new betta macrostoma breeder, but as soon as I find the space for more tanks ill definitely be getting some more wilds!

A large discussion we had on the forum was about the confusion we had with some scientific names. Thankfully you're breeding two and I can see you've put them in inverted commas- betta Palangkarensis and betta Antuta have had me and some others rightfully confused for a VERY long time! :P why did you out them in inverted commas?

Can't wait to hear more about your fishy adventures and once again, Welcome! :D

Oh no, not a Makem!

My family is originally from Byker, Newcastle Upon Tyne, but I'm Aussie born and bred.

Welcome to the forum mate.