Newbie Question

BettaTim

Ok, so i'm only new to breeding Betta, but have spent the past few years successfully breeding Cichlids and Bristlenoses.

I currently have only a few betta from my LFS to play around with, waiting on JHA to get some stock in. 1x Black CT Male with a dark blue VT Female and Red VT Male with a Red VT Female.

Am i Stupid in thinking that you can breed a CT male with a VT Female? Or a HM Male with a CT Female?

I have been introducing the female to the male tank 20mins per day, and the male goes nuts for her, doesn't bite at all, just a bit of chasing.

My plan is to have matching HM pairs, with matching colors, but just wanted to start practising with the fish i already have :)

Thanks in advance

Tim.

You can breed any of the tail varieties together and you will get fry, but the tail types of the fry won't necessarily be desirable and you may have trouble finding homes for the fry. A CT crossed with other tail types will usually give you a combtail. Which can be nice, but can also just look kind of raggedy.

http://www.bettysplendens.com/articles/page.imp?articleid=1482

Agree with kermadum in principle but sometime you might do those crosses if you can't find suitable matched pairs or if you're trying to transfer a particular trait from one to another. For example, I currently have a spawn of a steel crowntail with a full mask super blue delta. The reason I did that is to try to transfer the masking from the delta to the crowntail with the ultimate goal being to create a fully masked super blue CT. The super blue colour is a more intense blue than ordinary blue iridescence. This will be a long project. It could take up to 5 generations to get good CT finnage back again. But at least I'm going into it with my eyes open.

Yah, tricky one if you have several tail traits and no pairs / willing pairs.

But take a moment, sure you might cut your teeth on getting the courtship and the spawning process worked out... (which I suggest you do)