Discus eatting problem.

gtr32au

Hi, I have two Red Rose discus (15cm in size).

The problem I have is they will not eat. Its been three weeks now.

At the Aquarium they were eating beef heart. I’ve tried lots of different

Foods, Spectrum Pellets, Spirillum Algae flakes, Blood worms, Live black worms,

Tetre pellets, and also the same Beef heart which was feed to them in

The aquarium.

They approach the food then turn around. They seem to want to eat but just don’t.

The tank is 3.5 foot, set up for breeding.... So the bottom is bare.

I’ve tried putting plants ECT but still no go.

I’ve tried garlic guard also.

I had the pH set to 6.0 but it’s now sent to 6.7.

Nitrite is low but not zero (.02)

Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm not a discus expert but IME when fish won't eat it's usually because they don't like the conditions they're living in. You need to check everything.

Nitrite needs to be zero. Did you check ammonia and nitrate? They need to be zero as well. What kind of filter are you using?

How often do you do water changes? What kind of water are you using? Tap? or RO?

When you say pH was set to 6.0 but is now 6.7, what caused the change? Did you use additives to lower and raise the pH? What's the pH of the water that you use for water changes?

What's the temperature of their tank? How much does the temperature fluctuate? Check the temperature first thing in the morning, middle of the day (or as soon as you get home from work), and last thing before you go to bed.

Three weeks seems a long time for them not to be eating. My concern is that 3 weeks is probably long enough for their immune system to drop and for them to start succumbing to diseases which they would otherwise be able to resist.