Outdoor adventure - ponds and goldies

fionainc

Hello everyone.

I would like some thoughts about a renovator’s delight outdoor fish pond.

I am new to outdoor fish keeping – being a tropical tank girl myself (hooray for guppies!). My brother has purchased a new house and with it, a 5 tier outdoor pond. I’m going to take it on as my new project and intend to stock it with goldfish of some type.

This pond appears to have been empty for some time (at least through the several months of house inspection and settlement period). It comes equipped with an Aquapro A3000 water feature pump – although I haven’t climbed through the garden yet to see what filter (if any) it is attached to.

There has been lots of rain in Melbourne lately and the pond looks quite clear and is full of water (apart from some green algae clumped in areas). It also has one large potted plant in the main pond area (with some green algae growing on this too). The pond is in partial shade under some ferns.

My main conundrum is what to do to the pond before stocking it with fish. I don’t know the history of the pond, so I don’t know if the previous owners had troubles with any diseases or anything. I also don’t want to disrupt an established nitrogen cycle – so I’m not sure how aggressive to be with cleaning the pond.

My other thoughts were to get some floating plants so the fish have something to hide under. I was also thinking of stocking more nimble goldfish with fairly plain tails so they might be faster to hide from birds and the like (it just seems that fantails, although pretty, might be a bit slow off the mark… any thoughts?)

I have spent some time calling plant nurseries with respect to outdoor aquatic plants, and the advice I have had is to go to Gardenworld in Braeside where they have Lotus Watergarden specialty centre. Has anyone had any experience with them?

Comments, ideas, advice would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Fizz