Help needed

Agata

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to the hobby and it seems to be starting with a fiasco :( 3 weeks ago I bought some plants (Vallisneria, Java fern and Xmas moss) and they seem to be dying (especially the Vallisneria, but moss turned brown and Java fern has brown spots on it). 

We have the filter running 24/7, lights on 8 hours a day (sometimes white, sometimes pink to see if anything makes a difference), water temp is between 23-24 oC. They are far away from the window but they do get some natural light in the room. It’s just plants in the tank at the moment. We have the Aqua soil plus I have been adding fertiliser once a week as instructed. When purchasing we’ve asked for advice to get as easy to maintain plants as possible but it doesn’t seem to be the case. I am doing water changes regularly (20% once a week, daily at the start when aqua soil made water brown). I’ve done the water testing and values are as follows:

Last week pH 6.4 ammonia 2 ppm nitrites 0 nitrates 10 ppm
This week pH 6 ammonia 0.5-1 ppm nitrites 0 nitrates 10-20 ppm

I really need some help as it’s rough to look at all the plants dying when I have no clue what the problem is :(

It’s a 52L tank, specs as follows:

General

Water Flow
500L/hr
Wattage
Lights 2.5WW

If anyone will have any ideas what may be the problem I would greatly appreciate it as the place we bought everything from didn't really help much. 

0?ui=2&ik=6d91687da1&attid=0.1.1&permmsgid=msg-f:1740832514118991089&th=1828adf2c1833cf1&view=fimg&fur=ip&sz=s0-l75-ft&attbid=ANGjdJ_vpoFVz0_VMZZkH4hg9TLaNxsP0LAPC7q6rdrGz5X2WA903Dulykzrf-_tlRNqOoqfG8KY7lAzmKEEymnrFR6Yz27WU3WlOjUTu3tTjIRpbJzEjTQJeEuLmOc&disp=emb

0?ui=2&ik=6d91687da1&attid=0.1.2&permmsgid=msg-f:1740832514118991089&th=1828adf2c1833cf1&view=fimg&fur=ip&sz=s0-l75-ft&attbid=ANGjdJ_9qnM9u8L295GbGfjP0NdwMEkqodXgGWel30R47i-el5TxuJankV9jBeSGOYHAQ1Shvp_KfCwBrHN7qR54M22ID98EYwa9t74U2jXj8kIElRMK1Gi2upU9PFs&disp=emb