Hi all, I am Scott

snimmo

Hi All,
I am Scott,
I have been a hobbyist for the past 40 years on and off (work permitting), been out of the hobby for the past five years and finding myself getting back in and involving my two kids (12f,9m) into it.  They have their own 2ft tanks that I help them maintain. 

I have found myself interested in bettas and killis at times, but never found a way in.  
The shops have no killis, and bettas never seem to be in a good environment and have not seen any good quality females.

Started in the hobby as a kid with a community tank, found cichlids, loved my shell dwellers and mouth brooders.  Discovered ANGFA, and love natives though work killed my ability to go to meetings (ex-telco often with 24/7 committments).  Only have a few tanks now (3), but used to have a lot more before kids.

Hi Scott. I’m Michael. Welcome to the forum. And welcome back to the hobby. I think it’s great that you’re involving your kids. I was introduced to the hobby when I was 12 but didn’t have a mentor with any knowledge at all. It was basically, here’s a tank and a box of old equipment, do what you like. There was a shop only a 20 minute walk away from my home. My best friend (who lived a couple of doors away) and I spent so much time and most of our pocket money there. I think we stripped that tank and redecorated it nearly every week. I doubt the filter ever made it through a cycle. It was the best time of my life. But I do laugh now when I think about how clueless I was. 

Shops should be able to order killies from the wholesaler but the quality might be hit and miss. The varieties will also be limited. You should join the Killifish Australia group on Facebook. Serkan Alasya is in that group. He’s been the most consistent breeder of killies in Australia for at least 30 years if not longer. He’s the absolutely best person in the country to get you going with killies. Based in Canberra.