Cycling & tank size

Sal

I'm really new to bettas. And everywhere I go, I read different opinions on what the minimum tank size is to enable successful cycling.

Both of my tanks are around 3-point-something gallons (12 litres, with the capacity for 13 or 14, but I keep it 12 for accurate - ie, easy - math on additives while I'm figuring things out), with coarse, smooth gravel substrate and a variety of live, truly aquatic plants. One is filtered, one is unfiltered (as that fish really, really hates any flow), and I currently treat both as uncycled tanks, with either 100% WC + total cleanout (unfiltered) or 50% water change + gravel vac (filtered) per week, plus a couple of smaller changes to both tanks (about 20-25%) every couple of days.

If it's humanly possible to cycle the filtered 3.5g tank, I'd like to. I've been told that's a/ totally impossible, b/ possible but very difficult, c/ entirely possible with regular water testing, and d/ quite easily do-able, if it's a NPT.

Any advice as to which is the most accurate of those would be gratefully received. Larger tanks are simply not an option right now.

Thanks for the reply - and yes, I have tried cycling the filtered tank. I did pretty frequent, small water changes and tested for ammonia a lot - it was sitting between 0 and 0.25, most recently. But as I haven't yet got a reliable test kit for nitrates and nitrites, etc., I'm a bit nervous about spikes occurring that I can't monitor.

I intend to scrub the filtered tank out while Sid's in the hosp. tank, and start again. I may keep him in it until his tank has cycled properly - it's not so scary if he's not -in- there while it's in the process, and I should have a test kit before it finishes,

Good idea? Or.. no?

I can't put a filter on the other tank as Demyx freaks out at any water flow at all - and I'd need a filter to cycle that tank, right?

How long did you try for? Levels that low for short periods shouldnt do permanent damage.