Sign in to follow this  
zhong89

First time spawning butterfly HM X marble HM

This is my first time spawning therefore first time spawn log. Not quite sure how it goes or the proper names for the traits. All advice on the rearing of the fry and how to do the spawn log properly is welcome.

Father: Black and white butterfly halfmoon

PA280071.jpg

Mother: Black and white Marble halfmoon (sibling)

PA280092.jpg

PA280091.jpg

Source: Nina (She has really really really really nice fishes)

Introduced chimney: 28th Dec 2009

Released: 30th December 209

Spawned: 6th Jan 2010

Hatched: 8th Jan 2010

Free swimming: 10th Jan 2010

I'm using the same tank to spawn as well as to grown out here's a picture

PA270062.jpg

There is a sponge filter on the left, i didn't seem to get it in the picture.

My free swimming babies is now four days old, I've started feeding it microworms yesterday. A little bit of vinegar eels ( i forgot to buy a dust masked and it's too hot to go outside in melbourne i'm using the aquarium cotton syringe method to harvest the little bit i can). I'm also hatching BBS as I type, should be hatch by tomorrow morning.

My free swimming babies (day 4)

PA270064.jpg

P.S i don't know why the aquarium seems so green, it doesn't look like in real life

Edited by Joan

Looking good so far! Looks like there's plenty of fry there too. If i was to pick at anything it would only be that i would normally spawn in no more than 4"of water, but it's has obviously worked for you! Well done.

In an emergency i have emptied the tea leaves out of a tea bag and used that to strain VE, the tiny ones get through but you will get enough for a decent feed for the fry.