Hi All

canary

Hi all,

I’m completely new to fish keeping, Bettas and forums and I’m looking forward to learning lots from you all. You have already answered some questions and I’ve learned some great stuff from browsing through the forum. We got our first fishtank two months ago. We established a planted community tank (30L) with a marigold Swordtail, a black Molly, a Bristlenose, a Leopard Cory and a male Betta. After a couple of weeks the Molly became really dominant and started to head butt everyone else so we took it back and got a couple of female Bettas. We weren’t, and still aren’t, sure whether you’re supposed to keep males and females together in a community tank (we got conflicting opinions from the LFS’s) but everyone seems to be happy and active. We sadly lost our first Bristlenose after the first month and a half when we did a big water change. No one had told us about chlorine when we bought the tank and until then I think we’d just been lucky. Anyway, that’s been the only glitch thus far and we are really happy with our little family.

I’d like to get another male Betta (already addicted :wub: ) to keep in a smaller tank with maybe a Bristlenose or a snail and a little plant. The male Betta we have is a metallic green plakat (maybe? I’m hoping some one can tell me). If/when we get another I’d like to get something with longer fins like a CT but all I seem to see in LFS’s are VT’s and some shortfins. Looking around at the awesome looking fish other people have just makes it harder to know what I want :) . We move to Melbourne in October but if I can’t hold out I might have to scoot down and see what’s available down there.

I’m also interested in digital photography and look forward to discussing this, and maybe passing on some tips, with some of you on the forum.

Here are some photos I’ve taken of our fish. (I probably got a bit excited and went overboard)

Our fish

I have lots of questions and would love to know what people think of our fish.