Hi :)

Bekkaz

Hi :( I'm brand new to bettas and am living on the south side of Brisbane. I've just gotten my first betta about 10 days ago. I've named him Diesel. He's a little blue coloured guy that I picked up from the pet store. He has a bit of a white butterfly tail. Or did have. I was searching for info about them a few days ago when I noticed that bubbles started appearing at the top of the tank (and while talking to my Mum in NSW found out that my sister's one that she's had for a year has just started doing the same thing), and found all the information here on bubble nests. I'm keeping him in a tank that holds about 10L, I'm not really sure how much it is exactly.

I have been having a good read of the forum in the days since then and taking in a LOT of info. As a result I now think my little boy has finrot. I realised just today that the butterfly markings on his tail have all but disappeared and the ends are getting a bit ragged. Not sure if it's my fault or the petstores :) Any advice on what exactly the treatment is would be welcome. The bottle says just to 'use 5ml in 20L, repeat two days later if necessary'. Not very informative. Does that mean I add the solution and then leave it or do I give the fish a 30 min swim in it?

I'm completely new to bettas, I had a pair of red oscars when I was younger but haven't had any fish since then. Been feeding him mostly on freeze dried bloodworms, as the little round balls that I was first feeding him wouldn't stay on the surface of the tank, and would sink and make a mess after just a second or so of being in there. The ones that did manage to float he wouldn't eat, but he took to the bloodworm straight away. I'd keep the frozen ones except not sure my flatmates would like it :(