Sign in to follow this  
Emmaline

Black dragons critique

Ok awesome peoples, I'm a total newbie to fish breeding (the pond fish do their own thing without any assistence from me!). I have a gazillion questions I'd love help with before I start including whether my foundation stock are good enough.

My aim is for black platinum hm dragons. I'd like to show the progeny and come home with a truck load of trophies (lmao, whishful thinking!). I have 1 black dragon hm male (with some red wash in his fins) and three female black dragons. If I'm going to breed I want to contribute to improving the gene pool in Australia - rather than jut put any old fish together. Pics of my male and preferred female below. Here's my initial questions :P

1. To me she seems to have some dragon colouring starting to come over her eyes. I understand this can lead to blindness, Should I avoid using her because of this or just be selective in the progeny I choose to keep? The other females don't have this but their fins don't look as 'balanced' as hers.
  2. I haven't had them long enough to show them. Are they likely to produce show worthy progeny? What are their biggest faults?
  3. She has the most balanced fins out of the three (and the deepest dragon colouring). The other two have longer anal fins, much longer than their caudal fins which to me makes them look unbalanced - am I right to avoid using them because of this?

1. 10583793_10204817240773463_7422885599157

10473190_10203744992138117_2934214814491

10632664_10204830557426371_7627123159858

10704043_10204830560066437_2908288433384

Girl 2 for comparison..

10626569_10204830557066362_1308046894371

Edited by Emmaline

My aim is for black platinum hm dragons. I'd like to show the progeny and come home with a truck load of trophies

great to have an goal in mind :) heads up your fish are black copper dragons though not platinum (metallic white) ;)