Sign in to follow this  
hungryemo

Gorgonzola

First time posting for critique.

I'm pretty new to the world of Bettas, and fish in general, and I haven't looked too much into what is 'show' quality and what isn't. Not that I have any plans to - just a warning I might not understand some of what you'll tell me! I basically researched how to set up a tank for them, how to cycle, and how to keep them alive.

I also have a four foot tank with 12 females. All are from JHA and I'm always impressed with his fish. But anyway, onto Gorgonzola! Would love to know what you guys think of him and any details you can give me about his colour, form, etc etc?

28t86xd.jpg

The first thing that strikes me about this fish is the EVEN-NESS of his rays - everything is so geometric, which from a show standard point of view is really appealing.

There's something very easy on to the eye about this fish.

The butterfly pattern is fairly even though the tail - I think he'd be faulted in the colour department for the slight bleeding of red towards the bottom of the anal - and at the base of the dorsal, but it's very minor.

Body shape he's a little thick towards the back end but overall very tidy - slight un-even-ness in the topline, I would pair him with a very correct female to iron this out - good full ventrals....

He sports even metallic/dragon scaling over the body (what would you describe it as?) as he's back-lit it's hard to tell.

Anal fin is standardly a little too long, but again, with the choice of a good female (good symmetrical plakat style shape) he'll make beaudiful babies.

For me with this fish it's all about rays, he's not too frilly, no excess anything - just a generous halfmoon spread on a good fish.

Where did he come from??

-Ness

i think this fish is absolutely stunning, his tail is so symmetrical, and kiara do you not think that in this case simplicity is beauty? i think this fish is awesome, where did you get him from?

zacy your a douche!