kertaz

HM Copper/Bluish - opinions?

Maybe too early for him to be critized as he's still too small for breeding, but I just would like some critics/opinion on him or how he'll turn out. This one is the 'unique' one in the spawn. Didn't show his almost full flare to anyone 'til today. And as the title said: HM Copper/Bluish, since I'm not sure what to say to his colour (he got almost half-half of copper and blue, but now the copper dominates more part of him)

multi1.jpg

multi2.jpg

multi3.jpg

multi4.jpg

multi5.jpg

Me, I like him. :D

But I am no expert at judging Bettas yet.. So anything would be welcome :)

His flaring partner(not to be critized)

Those are the best shot I can take for now :(

Haven't properly set up the 'studio' dedicated to take pics of these guys yet..

These pics were taken when he's taking a 'rest' between each attempt to 'attack' his flaring partner through beanie box. So, may not be full flare after all. Might take vid of him later on.

70s vid, best shot probably towards the end of vid..

Edited by kertaz

I think he's a very nice fish. Good 180 spread. Love the big dorsal. Anal fin slightly long but that's really nit picking. I'm not sure exactly what causes the variation in colour on coppers. I'm guessing that when it's purplish there is a red underneath and when it's bluish there's royal blue underneath. But I don't know for sure. Overall he's a very nice fish.

Copper has a steel blue base - could it be that the extra metallic gene that causes copper doesn't have full coverage for some reason? What were his parents?

Comments same as Razzi's for his shape / form - looks a nice fish with good finnage and shape.... is the darkness on the tail just new growth or is he developing a butterfly type pattern? Could be a marble gene influencing the lack of full copper coverage perhaps?

Thanks for the comments, Razzi and fishbites.

Parents were Copper-Black (Dad)

DSCN2076.jpg

And teal (Mum)

gg-1.jpg