Subscape Betta Barracks [product development]

melbournebetta

Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo I went into Subscape with some drawings and questions... I got this barracks system in mind, see... and I needs me some help.

I don't like messing my hair up when I think about things like filtration, drip systems and confusing things like that.

I'm an ARTIST I want my things to WORK and look GOOD... that's how I roll.

Justin the owner of Subscape makes custom tanks, and we decided it might be useful to develop a barracks system that he could sell in the store if any other betta keepers had similar needs (tell santa!)

Personally, I have 90cm wide industrial shelving, about 30 males, 30 females, grow outs and spawn tanks all at various stages, and it just looks like a garage sale, or some strange scientific experiment.

What I REALLY want is 2 rows of really neat barracks that are long, so the males can swim around happily, both giants and standards, and share the water / heating / filtration

Remember I asked ages ago about what your needs and wants would be with a barracks system? Well, it was for this, we took it all into consideration, and thusfar this is the best we could come up with.

IMG_2594.jpg

Keep in mind this is the "display tank" version of the barracks.

The idea is that the back area has filtration / heating and the 10cm wide bays are just wide enough to fit a beanie box if you wanted to float another fish in there, allowing for something like 6 litres per fish (ample!)

This is obviously just the guts - and is currently made out of glass.

There are grills at the back for flow, and the original design will have a spray-bar coming over the top. (more about that later)

Down the track we are looking at perspex interiors or some ways of easily-removed cards so the fish aren't exposed to each other all the time (while I don't mind this, the feedback stated that y'all like to be able to card if you want)