New Barracks Idea

Rhysmachine101

Greetings fellow fish people!

First of all- sorry for the mammoth post! Don't let it cow you! You can do it!

I have been mulling an idea over in my head for a few months and now that my exams are almost out of the way, its starting to coalesce in my mind.

Ive been thinking about a tower of barracks... i haven't done any drawings yet (will get on to it) but this basically how I am imagining it:

So I have four rectangular containers, I put them together so they form a plus(+) symbol if looking down upon them, but with a square hole in the middle of them- only their corners are touching.

With me so far?

Next I have a tall PVC pipe/cylinder that I cut rectangular holes out of, so that the rectangular containers fit in them snugly.

Inside this PVC pipe/tower is another PVC pipe/tower with a smaller diameter-this has holes in it as well so that the container fits snugly inside as well.

So we have four containers fitted inside the two PVC pipes in a plus configuration.

Are you still with me? So If looking from above we have the containers now partially inside two circles( the circles being the PVC cylinders)

Now we repeat the four container configuration down the PVC pipe/tower as many times as we like.

At the bottom of the tower there will be a tank that is only as wide as the protruding containers- to preserve space.

This tank will be where all the water from the containers will drain to and contain the filter material and return pump.

The containers will drain via a small hole in the side that is facing the inside of the inner PVC pipe.

The containers will receive their water from a network of small tubes coming from the return pump that connect to a airline tap that is inserted into the top of the container.

This can be turned off and removed from the container and once the container has finished draining you can just pull out the container from the tower if you need to remove a fish for some reason.