Betta Sorority?

Shirley

Hi guys!
So I have some questions about running a sorority tank. I've been keeping betta on and off for about 10 years now but only ever males and obviously in solitary tanks.

I'm a science student and my lab works on animal behaviour using fish as model organisms, last year an honours student was using female fighting fish for his experiments on learning and now that his project is over we have about 30 or so female fighting fish that need a home. From what I understand there were some aggression issues in the beginning so they were all separated but kept in the same tank still. Last week we trialed letting them all out and so far they've all been behaving well with minimal fighting. I obviously won't be taking all of them but I'm interested in taking SOME home. They're all well over a year old now.

My questions are, how many can and should I take? Right now I have an 18gal tank that is housing 4 guppies (grow out tank), but I can easily move them into the guppy tank downstairs. I know I need to crowd the tank up with plants and hidey holes but I'm wondering what a good number for a tank this size would be?

18 gal is around 72 litres. If you look to keep it to around 4L per fish, that allows you to have 18 fish. Take a few off to allow for some snails and maybe a BN or two, I imagine 12-15 females with plenty of plants and hidey holes should be okay.

Just a note - depending on how these Betta were raised, and where they originally come from, a year old is getting on towards the end of their life span. There are tales around of Betta living up to 10 years, but this is the exception. A few go on to two or three years but again, fairly rare. 12-18 months is more the norm for power grown Betta purchased from a LFS.