Snails

Brenton

If you all hadn't guessed yet, I'm quite new to all of this and doing copious amounts of reading, leading to many questions leaking out of small brain...

I'm trying my best not to be a forum hog and limiting myself to asking only one new question a day at most.

Today's question: What snails should I be looking at getting? What's your favourites? How many should I get?

Not really three questions (just cross you eyes and it will look like only one...promise). Just want to know about snails for the boys?

Any and all advice appreciated.

BT

Others might have other experience, but I find that the majority of my adult males like to attack larger snails like mystery snails when they have their eyestalks out - a bit of a temptation with them looking like live worms wiggling around. Mystery snails are, however good for cleaning up spawn tanks and most fry will leave them alone.

May I ask what you are getting the snails for?

Try and stay away from some of the common smaller pest snails like the common pond snail, they breed far too quickly and are hard to remove from a tank once infested. If you have plants in the tank, make sure you don't get a snail that eats plants :)

I've had Ramshorn snails in with bettas before without problem. They can breed quite rapidly too, so you need to be on the lookout for eggs before they hatch and take over in plague proportions.

It's almost inevitable you'll get those common pest snails I think.

When I started my tank, it was clean, no snails. Then I bought some plants 'n things from the LFS and suddenly snails started turning up, they piggy backed their way in.

Even when I bought new fish from the LFS, what little water that was inadvertently transferred over with the new fish into my tank, within a week or so I started noticing a new type of snail moving around in the tank.